Antarctic Glacier Named after Karl Kraus

At the most recent meeting of the UK Antarctic Place-names Committee it was decided to to name four Antarctica glaciers in honour of “pioneers of analytical and digital photogrammetry”. The new names were also formally endorsed by the Commissioner of the British Antarctic Territory and have been added to the UK Gazetteer. The three glaciers and experts in photogrammetry are

  • Doyle
  • Helava
  • Kraus
  • Torlegård

Karl Kraus was professor of photogrammtry and remote sensing at TU Wien from 1974 until his death in 2006. You can read more about Karl Kraus in his obituary.

Or you can explore the Kraus Glacier at!
 Dec. 19, 2016